My Role Model

She has always had my back through thick or thin

She’d cuddle so I wasn’t scared, cried when her mother didn’t care

Taught me about the birds and the bees

Made brownies and lemonade so we could earn money

Nature versus nurture is the neverending debate

She wasn’t well nurtured, but nature was kind

In spite of nature, she became the ones who raised her

Her sweetness only surfaces when shes like you

or if she needs you

You’re always disposable, but never replaceable

She screams, but never listens, and powers through her self-inflicted migraines

She belittles others, out of her own insecurities

She’d beat someone up to try to protect me

She was always the pretty one, me the nice one

She has beauty and brains, leaving me with ambition and heart

Never knowing when to let something go, or when to let others start

feeling every feeling when feeling wronged, with no accountability

Always at a ten, never knowing how to descend

She guilt trips to get a rise, to feel loved

Always with a need to be worshipped, anything less is not enough

She’s everything I hoped to grow into, and now she’s everything I hope to leave

She’ll forever be my role model, but now she has two sides

one that I’ll always appreciate and one that is always behind

I was always her test dummy, but now I’m passing and she’s not catching on

Always questioning if our relationship is destined to evolve

Leave a comment