Still in the Fire

Thinking I’m recovered, that I made it through the fire

but I’m lying to myself and to others

I’m still under the wire

I can sit here and blame the history of my mother

but truth be told I hate to fail

Lying to myself is easier

I’ll do anything to exhale

even if for leisure

I’m paralyzed by stability

Without the ability to move, I’m destined to repeat the same actions, expecting different results

Always desperate for some humilty, my ego is my liability

Wishing to be the diamond from my ashes sooner than later

Not really sure if I’m ready to meet my creator

Thinking I’m recovered, that I made it through the fire

But when looking in the mirror, I see that I’m still a liar

Thinking I’m blending in with the crowd, but I’m really just lost and alone

Feeling as though I’m bleeding out, with nowhere to go, nowhere to take cover

I want to be happy, but I’m still grieving with my glass half empty, praying for its refill

adding to the landfill

Sitting in the dark, wishing for the light, wanting to be whole and healed

Trying to go through it to get through it, following the path out of this darkeness to the otherside

The other side with the light

The heat is subsiding, but I’m not yet content, my emotions are still burning

Always ready for the kerosene, never the rainfall

Always the yearning, yearning for more and for what could be

Never willing to concede on one knee

Never desiring the fire’s full decimation

For if it burns out, I burn out, no longer eternal

Fearful of my presumed condemnation

Always prepared to speak my rehearsed fearwell

Leave a comment